March News

Comps comps and even more comps! Because of the icky snowy weather still lingering around the Rockies, my only climbing indulgences have been in competitions. This month I attended my third annual Banff Youth Competition. This particular venue always gives out nice little trophies to the top three participants and I’m happy to say I finally got my first place trophy! The event went very well for me that day and I had tons of fun on the creatively set routes.

Finally completed my set after three years :)

Finally completed my set after three years :)

On the 16th I also attended Alberta’s first ever youth climbing provincials , which was added to the list of comps as a formality for the qualification of Sport Climbing in the 2020 Olympics. Hosted at the CCC Stronghold in Calgary, I managed to top my finals route and snag first place in the comp, as well as the title of overall provincial champion.

Climbing my finals route in provincials

Climbing my finals route in provincials

Another highlight of my month was finally getting the opportunity to attend the pre-screening of Spirit of Sport. I was featured in this documentary along with five other athletes and it was a really amazing experience to meet them! They were all very grounded, intelligent and engaging people who were really deeply rooted in their sport, and I thought it was a really cool thing to see, especially being able to talk to them again after watching the documentary. Congratulations to Chris Hsiung who got to see his work displayed on a big screen! I’m sure that’s an awesome feeling.

( View the trailer here: http://vimeo.com/51409781)

In other news, spring break is quickly approaching and I have big plans! My first order of business will be to travel to Vancouver for the Tour de Bloc Bouldering Regionals so I can try my hand against the strongest women in Canada. This will be my first bouldering regionals and this event is getting me so stoked to climb and train! After this I hope to relax with a little traveling and climbing in BC, weather permitting… (fingers crossed!) Stay tuned for more updates soon to come!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a comment